Tags

, , , ,

Image

As I write this (well, the rough draft) while sitting in my school library on a lovely spring morning, there is already a storm watch for this weekend {and now, on Sunday, I know that that watch was there for a reason}. Living in Missouri, this is not uncommon and normally I would be excited to listen to the blissful sound of rain hitting the roof. This time it’s a little different. Ever since reading TORN AWAY, there has been a nagging feeling of worry in my gut…

Jersey’s life was normal (that’s how every good story starts, isn’t it? You take something normal and prove its unnormalness…) (and yes, that is a word now. I say so.). She attended high school, had best friends, and loved her little sister. It was a normal (there’s that word again) evening, only a little cloudy at first. Jersey’s mom and sister were at dance class and her stepfather at work. She put down her backpack, started dinner…
… and ran down to the basement when the sirens went off. So begins the scariest scene I have ever read.You can throw all the monsters and ghost stories you want at me but nothing will ever top the horror of the tornado scene in TORN AWAY. Why was it so scary? It’s a real thing to be afraid of. I felt like I was there with Jersey listening to her world fall apart around her. I could smell the rain and feel the harshness of the wind. My heart pounded as the sick feeling for dread for what was to come creeped through my veins.

All of that in one scene.

Jersey’s heartbreak didn’t stop there. Alone and without someone to love her, she was sent to live with her biological father and his pathetic excuse to use the word “family.” Apart from not wanting to spoil the book for you all, I can’t even write about how they treated her because it makes me want to punch someone.

Yes, someone does come to the rescue. No, I will not tell you who…. but you will need a tissue and I advise you not to read this anywhere or at any time that you need to act like a sane human being.

With that, dear readers, I leave you with pictures of Brown’s book signing at a Barnes & Noble here in KC a few weeks ago.

Image

 

(left) That dork 🙂

Image

 

Me showing her how she posed in the picture above this one.

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

PS- Torn Away comes out on May 6th!

